Tale of the Teeth

I have a friend who just lost a tooth – a wisdom tooth.

I’ve lost two.

The last two sometimes get on my nerves, literally.

I could still remember that almost-4-to-5-hour operation lying on the dentist chair.

It started with the dentist loading a really huge injection… equipment. It was the biggest I had ever seen (at least to be stuck on me) with a really thin needle. After making me feel a bit comfortable (physically; emotionally, I was stressed), she cleaned the gum area of the first wisdom tooth. If I remember correctly, it was the one on the lower left area of my mouth. Then she stuck the needle in my gums, two or three times (anesthesia). So it begins.

Using, I think, a small blade, she made a small cut through my gums. Slowly she would try to pull the tooth out. However, wisdom teeth are huge and very stubborn. In the end (after three hours), she had cut through half of the tooth since it wouldn’t come out whole. She had to take it out part by part, which took a while. I think more anesthesia had to be injected since the initial shots were wearing off by then.

After that first tooth, the dentist went directly to the second one, which was the right bottom one, I think. I really couldn’t remember if it was both on the bottom or one from the top and one from the bottom. Anyway…

The procedure was repeated. Anesthesia, cut. The second one was faster, maybe because the dentist got her rhythm, or maybe because the tooth was a bit more cooperative. This tooth was taken out whole.

After the whole operation, my dentist gave me the teeth as a souvenir. I know I took it home, but I don’t know where they are now. Lol. The teeth were huge, almost canine-like. I might just be a half werewolf. Lol. Half of half-half.

For one week, my cheeks were bulging so much because of the anesthesia. I’m proud to say I only took one painkiller after the surgery. Haha. The pain was great, but tolerable. I couldn’t eat well for a while though.

Oh yeah. I forgot something. After each tooth was extracted, the dentist had to prepare a needle and thread for stitching. Ew. I could literally feel the thread coursing through my gums smoothly, even though there was no pain since my mouth felt really thick.

A week or two after the operation, I had to go back to the dentist to take the stitches off. After that, everyone was back to normal. I still have an irrational fear of going back for my last two wisdom teeth. Oh no.

~ by rach124jc on July 28, 2009.

One Response to “Tale of the Teeth”

  1. thanks !! very helpful post!

Leave a Reply

 
