Ms. Me

Different companies have different approaches in treating their employees. That’s one of the differences I’ve noticed. Coming from HSBC, I felt it was a bit different in Hyatt. Just a bit.

In HSBC, we were encouraged to call everyone by their first name. No Ms. or whatever title. Just call them by their first names, even if they’re levels higher than you are. For example, you don’t need to call your manager Ms. __ or Mr. __ or Sir __. But then some people, like me, sometimes take a while to get used to it.

In Hyatt, I got called Miss Rachel. Now that felt weird. First of all, I’m 19, and I don’t think I’d be older than any of them, especially the practicumers. Second, I feel old if someone calls me that. Lol.

I shared this with ojnA and he said it’s really just a sign of respect. I said, yeah, I know. I’m just not used to it, I guess. No one calls me “Achi” or any of those “older/elder” terms. So, I guess I’m really not used to it. There was a practicumer who always called me Miss Rachel.

“Good morning, Miss Rachel.”

“Hi, morning. ‘Wag mo na akong tawagang Miss. Nakakahiya. Hehe.”

But it never ends. Lol. Oh well.

~ by rach124jc on August 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
