Prophecy Poor

I’m sure we’ve pretty much heard about the Brazilian (right?) man who makes prophecies (the term ‘prophecy’ denotes that the man is a prophet’). Or if not the man himself, we might have heard about his predictions and so-called visions.

 

Here are some of the examples*–a vision of Princess Diana getting murdered, the bombing of the New York Twin Towers, and other previous catastrophies. One of the latest was the supposedly large earthquake (I think it was 8.1 on the RItcher scale) in the Philippines on the 18th of July. Well, guess what. Some of my brother’s classmates made jokes out of it, some people actually anticipated and waited for it, but it never came.

 

I also commented just a few days ago to my parents that the earthquake didn’t arrive; I got scolded for actually believing and listening to that. I just meant that hey, the prediction was wrong. This then brings to mind the passage in Jeremiah 14, 2 Peter, 2 John, and other verses that warn us against false prophets. They prophesy “false visions, divinations, idolatries and the delusions of their own minds.” (Jer. 14:14)

 

Reading all of the man’s predictions from the past and those for the future (as far as 2012, would you believe!) can instill in us false worries and unnecessary woes. We need to be open to falsities and determine what is from God and what is from the devil. Continuously reading the Bible and praying to God can give us the wisdom t

 

o discern and do what is right and what we must do.

*based on an email I received

~ by rach124jc on July 21, 2008.

Leave a comment